As one of the most enduring horror franchises ever made—with eight installments in its name and many collectible Chucky dolls to bootChild’s Play is known for being gory, unpredictable, and arguably loveable, with Chucky the knife-wielding sociopath as its frontman. Whether the existence of Child’s Play is new to you (we’re judging!) or you simply missed a film or two in the process, having spanned 35 years, it’s always worth re-watching the franchise in chronological order to see how it has evolved. Warning, there may be some spoilers ahead.

1. Child’s Play (1988)

This installment introduces serial killer Charles Lee Ray evading death by using voodoo magic to transfer his soul into a Good Guy Chucky Doll. Kicking off the Child’s Play saga. After being gifted to a young boy (Andy), he is then tasked with convincing everyone around him that the doll is alive and out for blood.

2. Child’s Play 2 (1990)

Shortly after the success of the first film, Child’s Play 2 made its grand debut with a revival of the beloved doll, Chucky. Continuing on his murder spree, he seeks out Andy, who is in foster care after his mother (Karen) was taken away to an insane asylum when no one believed her story about the murderous doll. Still hell-bent on claiming a human body, Chucky kills his way around the facility, and once again, no one believes Andy.

3. Child’s Play 3

With a larger time jump this time around, this movie takes fans to the late ‘90s. When the company Play Pals releases its new line of Good Guy dolls, Chucky returns to pursue teenage Andy who is attempting to straighten out his life (both physically and mentally) in military school.

4. Bride of Chucky (1998)

Ditching the iconic Child’s Play title, as well as the storyline with Andy, but keeping the same gruesome vibe, the fourth film in the franchise introduces a love interest for Chucky. When former lover Tiffany resurrects Chucky, she is forced to join him in doll form until the two can become human together again. 

5. Seed of Chucky (2004) 

Another time jump and the fifth installment is born, and that’s not the only thing. With a girlfriend being introduced in the prior film, why not a “seed” as well? Glen (or Glenda) is the child of Chucky and Tiffany and they are unsure of whether murdering is right for them. Either they live up to the expectations of Daddy or face some wicked consequences. 

6. Curse of Chucky (2013) 

As the name suggests, the Curse of Chucky is revealed in this riveting installment that picks up four years after Seed of Chucky and 25 years after the first film. The plot follows the wisecracking doll Chucky as finds himself a new home and some new victims to terrorize and torment—Nica Pierce and her troubled family. As always, he is looking for bloodthirsty revenge. 

7. Cult of Chucky (2017)

This installment is the homecoming of all Chucky films as it combines several of the major players of the franchise into one film—Andy, Nica, Tiffany, and multiple Chuckys. Returning to terrorize his former human, Nica, who is now confined in an asylum for the criminally insane, the killer doll also plans to settle his score with some old enemies as well. 

8. Child’s Play (2019)

Resurrecting the saga from the ground up is the latest installment, which is an overhaul of everything we know about the entire franchise. Bringing a futuristic approach to connect to the next generation of horror lovers, Chucky is reimagined as a smart doll that goes crazy rather than a possessed killer. 

Whether you want to tackle all eight movies in a single day or make it a weekend marathon, the Child’s Play franchise is worth watching in chronological order. Plus, you can shop collectible Chucky dolls on our website.

Which of the above films is your favorite? Drop a comment below to share. 

April 14, 2023 — Alex Wilks